Yosemite Sugar Pine Railroad is an exciting 4-mile railroad excursion at Yosemite Park’s south gate on highway 41. Ride into history where powerful locomotives once hauled massive log trains through the Sierra mountains.
Where mighty lumberjacks felled the timber and flumes carried lumber to the distant valley below. The Sierra National Forest’s majestic woods provide the backdrop for the narrow gauge journey back in time.
Sugar Pine Railroad operated two steam train locomotives along the historic route of the Madera Sugar Pine Lumber Company.
The two steam locomotives operate daily during the summer months, while the railroad’s Model A “Jenny” railcars, capable of carrying about a dozen passengers, runs on the line during the off-season.
Along with the four-mile train trip, the Yosemite Sugar Pine Railroad offers moonlight specials during the month of May. Enjoy a barbecued steak or chicken dinner and a stop-over in Lewis Creek Canyon for live music by the Sugar Pine band.
The Yosemite steam train ride lasts about one hour and takes you through the beautiful Sierra National Forest. You travel over four miles on the historic Madera Sugar Pine Railroad and this trip is pet-friendly, dogs ride free.
Yosemite Railroad Steam Trains
The two steam engines include No. 10: a 3 ft narrow gauge three-truck Shay steam locomotive constructed for the Pickering Lumber Company. The locomotive was completed on March 2, 1928, by the Lima Locomotive Works in Lima, Ohio and later acquired by the West Side Lumber Company in 1934.
No. 10 burns oil, with a capacity to hold 1,200 U.S. gallons (1,000 imperial gallons; 4,500 liters) of oil and 3,420 US gal (2,850 imp gal; 12,900 L) of water. This locomotive is reputedly the largest narrow gauge Shay locomotive ever constructed.
No. 15: also a 3 ft narrow gauge three-truck Shay steam locomotive. No. 15 was originally constructed as the No. 9 for Norman P. Livermore & Company, out of San Francisco, California, and soon thereafter sold to the Sierra Nevada Wood & Lumber Co. The locomotive was completed on May 20, 1913, by the Lima Locomotive Works in Lima, Ohio.
No. 15 burns oil, with a capacity to hold 1,000 US gal of oil and 2,000 US gal of water. In 1917, the No. 15 was acquired by Hobart Estate Co. as their No. 9. In 1938, the No. 15 was given its current number when purchased by the Hyman-Michaels Co., operating out of San Francisco.
The West Side Lumber Company purchased No. 15 only a year later. When the West Side shut down in the 1960s, a tourist operation, the West Side & Cherry Valley, acquired the No. 15. After hauling tourists for a number of years, the locomotive sat on static display in Tuolumne, California, until the Yosemite Sugar Pine Railroad acquired it in 1988.
Yosemite Mountain Sugar Pine Railroad 56001 Hwy 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623. Plan on a one hour drive from Fresno, California.